MCC Tablets: Home

Borrow a Tablet

Borrow a Tablet Computer

Tablet computers and eReaders can be checked out at the Circulation (front) desk.

We now offer the option to reserve a tablet in advance!

  • MCC students may borrow one device for one week
  • Faculty and staff may borrow up to two devices for two weeks.
The tablets cannot be renewed.

Try one out!  We currently have:

  • ASUS Transformer Pad Infinity (2)
  • Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 (2)
  • iPad (1st generation)
  • Nook Color (2)
  • Kindle

Please care for any device as if it were your own:

  • Always keep the device in its case and (for the Samsung tablets) replace the stylus when you're not using it.
  • Don't use foreign objects on the touchscreen -- only your finger or, for the Samsung tablets, the stock stylus.
  • Finally, (and most importantly!) please don't leave personal information or files on the device.

eBook users: see our eBook guide for more information.

Thanks!  Enjoy your time with the device!

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I change the volume?

    The second button from the left on the top of the device is a volume control. Press the left side of the button to turn the volume down, and the right side to turn the button up.

How do I turn the tablet on?

    Both types of tablets have a button on the top left corner (above the screen to the left) for powering them on and off. Hold this for a few seconds to turn the tablet on. Pressing and immediately releasing this button will turn the screen back on when the tablet is in standby mode.

What does _______ mean?

    Nearly any term that you have questions about can be looked up here: Techopedia IT Dictionary

Where is the stylus?

    (Only our Samsung tablets have styluses.) The Samsung tablet has a stylus on the back of the bottom left corner. You may need to (temporarily!) remove the tablet from the case to access the stylus. (Please replace the tablet in its case before continued use.)

App Details

Each tablet is configured with three main frames, or screens, which you reach by swiping from side to side. On the screens, you will find:

  • Left Frame
    • Application Monitoring Widget: These widgets differ in appearance on the two different types of tablets we have, but in either case you can use this widget to view running applications and close them to clear up memory.
    • Badland: Badland is an award-winning game in which you pilot a small bat-like creature through a number of increasingly difficult levels. This has in-game directions, but gameplay relies primarily on touching the screen to fly.
    • Crayon Physics: (This only appears on the Samsung Tablets) - This is a drawing-based game wherein the user solves puzzles by drawing objects into the situation. There is an in-app tutorial.
    • PS Touch: (This only appears on the Samsung Tablets) - Photoshop Touch is image editing software; although somewhat complicated to use, in-app tutorials make it simple to learn.
    • Science360: Science360 is a National Science Foundation radio and podcast streaming app. Open it up, press play, and learn something!
  • Center (Main) Frame
    • AccuWeather: (widget) Click the refresh button in the lower right corner of this widget to update the current temperature. Clicking anywhere else on this widget will launch the app, where you can view the extended forecast.
    • Chrome: (widget) Chrome is a web browser. You can drag up and down within this widget to view bookmarks, or click one to open Chrome on the chosen webpage. Clicking the Chrome symbol in the lower right to open the browser.
    • Dictionary: This app allows you to look words up on Dictionary.com as well as read interesting articles about words and etymology.
    • EasyBib: EasyBib is a citation assistance application.
    • Evernote:
    • Google Sky Map: Google Sky Map is your guide to stargazing. (Even during the day, or indoors!) Start the app, "point" the tablet where you'd like, and see the stars labeled and organized.
    • LMxPRESS: Use this app to search the library's books and other resources!
    • Maps: This Google app can show you directions, look up locations, and act as a searchable atlas.
    • Polaris Office: This Office app can read, edit, and create common Microsoft Office filetypes such as Word and Excel.
    • Resume Builder: An app that helps the user assemble a resume. If you're comfortable formatting your own, you can also type one up in Polaris Office.
    • Spotify: Spotify is a music listening service that allows you to listen to almost anything you'd like.
    • TED: The TED app provides an access portal to a collection of TEDTalk media on a variety of subjects. (TED is a nonprofit that holds conferences devoted to "ideas worth spreading." TEDTalks are presentations given at their conferences.)
    • Timely: Timely is an alarm application that also has timer functionality.
    • Youtube: An app dedicated to accessing the user-submitted videos site, YouTube.
  • Right Frame
    • Feedly: (widget) Feedly is an RSS app to which we have added a number of news feeds.
    • Google Books: (widget) Google Books is an app for accessing eBooks purchased from the Google store. A number of classics have been added to the tablet's resources.
    • Wikipedia: Much as it sounds, Wikipedia is an app that allows you to view Wikipedia.
    • Zinio: Zinio is an app that allows you to sign in and read magazines! You'll have to sign up through LMxAC, but after that you'll be all set! (Be sure to log out of the app before you return the tablet.)

When you remove the stylus from the Samsung tablets, a "heads-up" menu of stylus apps appears on the right side. If you do not need to use any of the apps in this menu, ignore it and it will eventually go away. It contains:

  • Popup Note: A simple note-taking app which makes use of the stylus.
  • S Note: S Note is an advanced note-taking app, which includes features that allow you to create various types of projects from recipes to flyers. Examples of project types are included.
  • S Planner: Much as it appears, this is a calendar/planner app. (A quick reminder: Don't save any personal information to the tablet!)
  • Crayon physics: This is a drawing-based game wherein the user solves puzzles by drawing objects into the situation. There is an in-app tutorial.
  • PS Touch:Photoshop Touch is image editing software; although somewhat complicated to use, in-app tutorials make it simple to learn.
  • Polaris Office: This Office app can read, edit, and create common Microsoft Office filetypes such as Word and Excel.
  • S Pen Settings: These control the settings related to the "S Pen" stylus. Please do not change these.

An extra note about the Samsung tablets: If you have the stylus removed and hover it near the screen without touching anything, the tablet will provide additional information about whatever you're hovering.